top of page

Chapter History

The Kappa Alpha Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. was chartered on April 15, 1973 on the campus of the University of Oklahoma.

Prompted by the need of leadership and excellence, nine dedicated women sought to uphold the vision of the original twenty-two. They understood they were of the elite and that the concerns of the community were theirs to shoulder. Thus began another great chapter, Kappa Alpha, in the history of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated! 


  • Alfreda Lawson Eady

  • Elizabeth Deloney Hepburn

  • Velma Jean Prout Jones

  • Vicki Banks Land

  • Virgena Meloney Lewis

  • Jacquelyn Robbins

  • Cassandra Smithers Roberts

  • Sybil Armstead Sherman

  • Freddie Garrison Young

bottom of page